Seven UGA employees were recognized for exemplary work in serving the state of Georgia at the 2018 Public Service and Outreach Awards Luncheon, which included recognition of an Entrepreneur of the Year and a Donor Impact Award.

Kim Coder, a professor of tree biology and community forestry in the Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, received the 2018 Walter Barnard Hill Fellow Award for Distinguished Achievement in Public Service and Outreach.

The Hill Fellow is UGA’s highest award in public service and outreach and is comparable to a distinguished professorship.

Kim Coder

Three Public Service and Outreach faculty members—Julia Gaskin, sustainable agriculture coordinator in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Beverly Johnson, public service associate in the Carl Vinson Institute of Government, and Tori Stivers, seafood and marketing specialist for Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant—received Walter Barnard Hill Awards for Distinguished Achievement in Public Service and Outreach.

Julia Gaskin

The Hill Award and Hill Fellow are named for Chancellor Walter Barnard Hill, who led the University of Georgia from 1899 to 1905. Hill was a pioneer who helped define the university’s modern public service and outreach mission.

Marty Higgins, a marine resource specialist with Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant, received the Public Service and Outreach Staff Award for Excellence.

Marty Higgins

Ruth Harman, an associate professor of language and literacy in the College of Education, received the Engaged Scholar Award, recognizing a tenured associate or full professor who has made significant career-spanning contributions to UGA Public Service and Outreach.

UGA Public Service and Outreach named Ted Dennard, president and founder of the Savannah Bee Company, entrepreneur of the year.  The award recognizes a company that has exhibited significant growth in business, benefitted from a variety of formal learning opportunities through the UGA Small Business Development Center and served as a public advocate of business ownership. The award was sponsored by State Bank & Trust Company.

A new award this year recognized a donor whose gifts have made an extraordinary impact on the lives of citizens of Georgia and beyond. The award was presented to the R. Howard Dobbs, Jr. Foundation in recognition of its multi-year support of the Legislative Environmental Policy Academy at the Carl Vinson Institute of Government and its impact on the State of Georgia.


President of the foundation, David Weitnauer, accepted the award.

R. Howard Dobbs, Jr. Foundation

For more information, go to